Faith is the key ingredient to problem solving

In the past week, a long time friend of mine who now operates his own hair styling studio approached me for a panic situation. It was a spur of the moment situation that he decided to give his salon a make-over. Budget, product availability & time-to-delivery were a combination constraint that got me thinking real hard.

Without any delay, we visited his studio (work was in progress). He wasn’t too sure about his ideals, and had some intent… referring to the neighboring boutiques & retailers. To be realistic, I advised him to make a physical count of the reference he preferred most, and to make a mental note to assume each light fixture to be priced at $100 each, just for budget estimate.

Within seconds, he gave up counting, citing that he wanted minimal lighting points, but with equal or similar luminance.

To add to the complexity, he has already purchased some decorative wall lamps as well as a chandelier that are due to arrive, in time for the electricians to install.

We went back into his studio, made some measurements on the interior dimensions, so as to ascertain the generic volume, as well as to isolate the zones where he would very likely be installing the decorative lights.

On the very next day, I made some calculations, and devised a budget friendly solution that fulfilled his requirements. On account that there would be some form of decorative lights, and him being receptive to use some track mount projectors, I budgeted to provided him with ±400lx from 2 pieces of ceiling mount high discharge canisters, leaving the remaining of the interior to be illuminated with the track mount projectors, wall mount decorative lights, as well as his chandelier.

On the following evening, I paid a visit to his studio again (the installation of lights weren’t complete). Being able to spot the studio from a distance, while his crew of stylists grinning ear to ear; sufficed to tell me that I’ve not disappointed their good faith in me.

Waiting to add another feather to the cap.

About Alvin Tan

Travel- my desire, Food- my passion, Environment- my canvas, Light- my ink. I make a living, LIVING... so can you~! http://101odyssey.worldventures.biz/ysbh/
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

